Love of Life: Day 6

Well, as much as I like the idea behind this technique, I can’t say it has done much for me. But the problem doesn’t seem to be the technique itself, the problem seems to be me.

I’ve had a very stressful week. I had my period which is always stressful for me, and I had some bad news which sent me into a bit of a tailspin for the past few days and resulted in some serious anxiety. I also had a wisdom tooth removed and found out about a whole bunch of problems in my mouth.

Not cool.

And the fact of the matter is that I just wasn’t really trying. I wasn’t. I was too afraid to let go of my beloved coping mechanism. Because no matter how maladaptive it is, it works. In that moment of stress and anxiety, it works.

And how do you say no to that?

It takes a lot of courage that I just couldn’t seem to find in myself. I lacked the courage to try, to take the risk and try something else, playing it “safe” with what I know to be (in the short term) an effective coping strategy.

It’s difficult to think about and consider the long term effects of my behavior in that moment, even as long term as in ten minutes when the guilt and shame kicks in. All I know is that I have anxiety now and I have to kick it. Now.

How do you say yes to something that you’re still not sure of? I don’t know if taking photographs is going to quell my anxiety. Logically it makes sense to me, but I obviously don’t believe it will be as effective as picking in my heart.

And that’s the real core of the problem. There’s a part of me that doesn’t want to stop picking, and in that moment of anxiety, it’s the part that speaks the loudest. It’s a part of me that doesn’t care about how it will affect me in the future, how it will make me feel after I’ve finished, it only cares about combating that immediate anxiety.

Immediate gratification. It’s very infantile.

While I think that finding something else to do with my hands will play a big part in my recovery (and so it’s something I’m going to continue to practice) I think I need to start focusing on anxiety tolerance.

If I can learn to deal with the anxiety without trying to desperately run away from it, maybe I won’t be so quick to turn to skin picking. If I’m not trying to make the anxiety go away, then why would I need to pick at all?

I figure it’s worth a shot. There is a part of me that doesn’t want to stop picking, and I see that very clearly now. But maybe if that part of me learns to accept the anxiety, it won’t have to want to stop, because it won’t feel the need to do it in the first place.

It doesn’t take any effort for me to not eat an apple right now because there are no apples in my house. There’s no aversion to apples because apples aren’t even here. I don’t have to say “I don’t want an apple” because there are no apples to refuse.

Does that make sense?

If there’s nothing to run from (because I’m accepting anxiety, not trying to escape it) then there’s no reason to run (pick) at all.

I’ll still take photographs because my hands have this habit, but I think tolerance is the next step here. And I’ll definitely be posting some when I take some I like!

Thanks for reading and wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Love of Life: Day 6

  1. Popyt na usługi detektywistyczne jest we
    współczesnym świecie detektywi warszawa niezmiernie wysoki.

  2. Robert says:

    Coraz większa ilość biznes w Polsce dostrzega dyspozycja jakie
    niesie ze sobą turystyka. W ten tryb jesteśmy w stanie stosować spośród co chwila
    większej liczby form turystyki oraz w naszym kraju.

  3. Współcześnie możemy używać projektowanie wizytówek z wielu nowoczesnych technologii, jakie spośród jednej strony pozwalają na tworzenie wysoko lepszej jakości
    produktów, oraz spośród drugiej okolica takich, które
    możemy kupić taniej. Z tego powodu nowoczesne technologie
    pojawiają się w raz za razem większej liczbie firm.
    Możemy je odnaleźć między innymi w drukarniach
    w jakich wykorzystywane są bardzo różnorodne formy drukowania.
    Drukować możemy tak jak na papierze, kiedy i na innych rodzajach materiałów.
    Nowoczesne formy druku pozwalają na drukowanie nader wymyślnych wzorów nawet na produktach.

  4. I visit every day a few web sites and blogs to read articles or reviews, except this website offers
    feature based writing.

  5. Traci says:

    Net jest coraz ważniejszym kanałem nie tylko jeśli chodzi rozrywkę, czy poszukiwanie informacji,
    ale również jeśli kroczy o sprzedaż i reklama. Coraz większa
    liczba osób posiada dostęp do sieci w środku dnia,
    zarówno w formie stacjonarnej, jak i formie mobilnej.
    Jednocześnie coraz większa numer osób nie boi się dopełniać zakupów produktów oraz usług seo drogą internetową,
    co zwiększa skuteczność jaką ma kampania reklamowa.
    Wielu klientów zauważa plusy jakie płyną z
    wariacje dokonywania takich zakupów. Jednym z takich plusów jest możliwość zaoszczędzenia terminu
    jaki konieczny by był do chodzenia po sklepach stacjonarnych.
    W sieci możemy oraz znaleźć niższe ceny, które wynikają z mniejszych kosztów prowadzenia działalności Reklama Firmy w Internecie na mocy firmy jakie nie posiadają stacjonarnych oddziałów.

    Innym plusem jest opcja szukania różnych ofert. Z tego powodu kampania
    reklamowa jaka prowadzona znajduje się w Internecie może przynieść bardzo pozytywne rezultaty.

    Plusem takich kampanii, jak firma na facebook widnieje możliwość szybkiego badania jej uzysków.
    W ten sposób znacznie łatwiej jest dopasować kampanię aż
    do konkretnych odbiorców. Dodatkowo możliwe jest korzystanie
    takich sposobów reklamowania się, które niosą ze sobą różne koszty.
    Dla przykładu firma na facebook akceptowalny bardzo tanim sposobem zarówno promowania się, jak i prowadzenia
    funkcjonowaniu promocyjnych. Jest to rozwiązanie, choćby
    dla małych i średnich firm dla których tradycyjne formy reklamowania się nie mają
    możliwości być zbyt drogie. Jest to również zlikwidowanie jakie może znacznie zwiększyć rynek i zakres oddziaływania korporacji na klientów.

  6. Jeżeli oczekujesz, że powiem ci o strasznych wynikach
    zdrowotnych palenia, o tym, iż palacze wydają fortunę na
    przestrzeni całego życia na papierosy, iż jest owo odrażający natomiast koszmarny nałóg plus iż jesteś laik również masz słabą
    wolę, owo muszę cię rozwiać złudzenia. Ta taktyka przenigdy
    mi nie pomogła, natomiast gdyby miała wesprzeć
    tobie, to w tej chwili do tej pory przestałbyś palić. Moja
    metoda, którą nazywam EASYWAY (ang.: nieskomplikowany tryb – przyp.
    tłum.) nie działa skutkiem tego. Niektóre rzeczy, o których będę RzucaniE PaleniA
    opowiadał, mogą zadenuncjować ci się cokolwiek
    wiarygodne, jednakże, gdy skończysz czytać tę publikację,
    nie na to samo w nie uwierzysz, atoli będziesz się zdumiewać, gdy mogłeś ilekroć myśleć inaczej.
    Istnieje fałszywe przekonanie, iż sami decydujemy o tymże, że chcemy palić.
    Palacze w tym samym poziomie decydują, że chcą egzystować nałogowcami,
    w jakim żul stanowi się, że chce pozostać alkoholikiem,
    albo narkoman, że chce się uwarunkować od czasu heroiny.

    Prawdą jest, iż sami decydujemy, iżby zachęcić
    te pierwsze danie, eksperymentalne papierosy. Ja też nieraz decyduję się, by pójść aż do kina, lecz nie postanowiłem spędzić całego życia w
    kinie. Zastanów się przez przelotnie nad swoim życiem.
    Czy kiedy tylko stwierdziłeś, że w niektórych momentach własnego
    życia nie możesz cieszyć się posiłkiem czy też spotkaniem towarzyskim

  7. 71º & Sunny says:

    I certainly do wish you luck here! I’m sorry you had a rough week. Of course, it’s only natural that you would turn to what gives you relief. I think you are being a bit too hard on yourself. My psychologist did tell me that skin picking is very hard to fight (but not impossible!) because there is a seratonin release that makes it really habit forming.

    Anxiety tolerance is definitely something I’ve had to learn to work on in battling my OCD. It takes a lot of practice, but it really can happen. Don’t get me wrong, I still don’t like anxiety, but it doesn’t necessarily feel like the end of the world all of the time anymore. I believe it is also referred to as distress tolerance. Looking forward to hearing about how you are doing in the coming days. Hang in there!

    • endpicking says:

      Yes, that’s exactly right. We get addicted to the release of seratonin because it just feels so good! This might be why SSRIs have been found to be effective in the treatment of dermatillomania. Perhaps our brains aren’t functioning correctly in that department in the first place which leaves us vulnerable to this kind of condition.

      I don’t feel that I’m being too hard on myself. That’s just the first time I really started to take some responsibility for the picking. It’s the truth that I want to do it, and I think being honest about that is key to recovery. There’s no shame in it, it’s just a factor in the equation.

      So you’ve been working on distress tolerance? Do you have any tips?

  8. For me, I find a 2-pronged approach is necessary. One is very tactical: moisturize my cuticles and my skin’s rough spots, keep my nails short and groomed, wear gloves and band-aids. Also, I am currently replacing picking with rubbing – less damaging. The second is meditation and breathing. I know it seems weird to think that just sitting and breathing can be transformational, and it takes discipline to do it, but it does help. You sit with the anxiety and acknowledge it – to feel grounded, accepting, and at peace – at least for the moment! And then you can apply the meditation process to your moments of anxiety. When you sit in meditation the thoughts keep coming and you say “Ah, there I go, thinking again” and you return to your breath. Same as with anxiety and picking: you say “Ah, there I go, picking again” and you stop – for the moment – and return to your breath. It’s hard. Don’t beat yourself up when you relapse. The meditation may help you manage your heavy, painful periods with more equanimity. All best.

    • endpicking says:

      How are you finding the rubbing?

      I did try that, but I found that the contact with my skin just lead to finding imperfections that I then couldn’t resist picking at. Part of my routine is searching the skin for things to pick at, either with my fingers or by looking, so I didn’t find that very useful myself.

      Now, meditation is exactly what I’m talking about! I’m a reasonably experienced meditator, I’ve been doing it for a few years now, but I don’t do it consistently or often. But it was because of meditation that I got over panic attacks.

      I was having a severe attack and meditated through it, just accepting the anxiety and it was one of the most wonderfully profound experiences of my life. I’ve never had such a severe panic attack since.

      Accepting the panic resulted in its disappearance. That’s part of the reason that I have quite a lot of faith in this technique. I know that it can be done, and I know that it does help.

      But I did get a stress ball to help 🙂

      Best of luck on your picking journey!

  9. vivianalvina says:

    I do wish you the best of luck my dear and it makes perfect sense if you can get rid of some of the anxiety everything else will fall into place much easier. My prayers are with you.

    Hugs,
    Viv

Have Your Say